Perez’s Walk-Off Gives Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity Victory Over Dublin Scioto
A walk-off single led Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity past Dublin Scioto 7-6 on Tuesday. Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity trailed 6-5 in the bottom of the seventh inning when Phillip Perez singled on a 0-1 count, scoring two runs.
Despite falling down by four runs in the first inning, Dublin Scioto tried to fight back. Dublin Scioto scored six runs in the failed comeback on a error in the fourth, a walk by Chad Ray in the seventh, a double by Mauricio Fernandez in the seventh, a single by Andrew Whetstone in the seventh, and a error in the seventh.
Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity opened up scoring in the first inning. Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity scored one run when Luke Bartemes doubled.
Ben Sarver earned the win for Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity. He went two-thirds of an inning, allowing one run on two hits and walking zero. Ryan Ebeling and Ben Hall entered the game out of the bullpen and helped to close out the game in relief.
Aiden Lao took the loss for Dublin Scioto. He lasted one-third of an inning, allowing zero hits and three runs.
Kyron Rogers started the game for Dublin Scioto. He went five innings, allowing four runs on nine hits, striking out five and walking zero Matt Dorenkott started the game for Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity. He allowed zero hits and zero runs over two innings, striking out one
Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity had ten hits in the game. Bartemes, Perez, Spencer Eiselt, and Alex Dluzynski all collected multiple hits for Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity. Dluzynski, Eiselt, Perez, and Bartemes each managed two hits to lead Dublin Coffman Shamrocks Varsity.
Lao went 2-for-2 at the plate to lead Dublin Scioto in hits.